"All our knowledge has its origin in our perception." (Leonardo da Vinci)

According to my research, YIPS are an unconsciously learned movement pattern and very often linked to specific situations, such as competitions or observation.

"The whole is more than the sum of its parts." (Aristoteles)

A relaxed and harmonious movement execution e.g. with coordinated and quiet hands is no longer controllable. As a result, the unity of movement has been lost. The fine motor skills are no longer controllable.

  • YIPS are a natural reaction of the human being (the athlete) to perceptual processes in connection with stress during the movement process
  • YIPS usually manifests itself in many sports as unsteady hands during the execution of the movement
  • Often the dominant hand is affected
  • The athlete experiences a " powerlessness " over his body control during the movement or even before the start of the action
  • YIPS are context-specific and can occur sporadically or chronically
  • YIPS can lead to significant performance losses

sporadic and chronic impact panic

I also use the term "impact panic" for the problem of the collision between club and ball in golf and tennis. (Impact-Panic)

In my experience, any person (athlete) has experienced a sporadic movement disorder. As a result of a chronic occurrence, the unsteady hands become a serious problem for the person (athlete).

psyche

Emotional processes such as disappointment, anger, fear of failure or embarrassment intensify and consolidate the YIPS symptomatology.

Poor ideas of motions are the "Performance killer" in sports.

With professional help YIPS are a fixable problem. The goal is to regain holistic movement to be controlled and executed.

In an interview with Golfjournal (2017) you can learn more.

zum Artikel: "That's where the pure desperation comes out".

YIPS in ultrasound - chaotic deviations

This is what shaky hands (YIPS) look like in the putting motion (measurement based on ultrasound with SAM Puttlab):

 

 

 

 

The graphic shows the disturbance of the face rotation in the forward swing during putting-YIPS. The colored lines are ten different putts that reflect uncontrolled clubface rotation. This "chaotic" behavior of the clubhead makes the result of the stroke random. The swings illustrate the loss of a holistic movement structure.

Causes of YIPS

The causes for the occurrence of bad perceptual processes are manifold. For example, dissecting the movement into individual movement components and consciously training individual part impulses with an over-analysis of the movement can make holistic movement control difficult. Repeated failures can lead to a significant movement disorder such as the YIPS phenomenon.

» weakness in the game: Yips often show up in the actual or perceived weakness of your golf game. Here, an poor or technically deficient playing technique can play a role and lead to unsteady hands during the movement.

» increased stress level: This can be unconscious stress outside and inside the game of golf. These include, for example, injury problems or the change of technique.

» disgraceful failure: During your round of golf, you experience one or more embarrassing misses in a particular area of your golf game, such as short putts or chips. The perception of the misses may be amplified by the public attention of fellow players or spectators during a tournament.

» stereotype training: A high and one-sided training workload can lead to overloads and bad perception processes in the playing technique. Motor experiences from other impact sports such as tennis or squash may also lead to negative transfer effects such as overactive hands / forearms and the loss of holistic movement control. A striving for perfection increases the onset of YIPS symptomatology.

» analytic-sythetic training:The (excessive) practice of partial impulses, the (conscious) dissection of a holistic movement structure into individual components as well as the conscious control and intervention in a flowing movement sequence can stimulate the onset of YIPS symptomatology. The compulsive practice of so-called neutral swing elements, such as a conscious launching of the golf club on the club plane, can also be the entry into a movement disorder.

The mentioned aspects are the ideal ingredients for the perfect "YIPS cocktail"...and for the development of a impact-panic

Putting-YIPS
putting-problems & shaky hands during putting

Putting-YIPS

Three-time major winner, Tommy Armour formulated the term YIPS in reference to his putting problems and ended his professional career at age 41 due to chronic putting YIPS.

The career of Germany's most prominent golfer - Bernhard Langer - has also been nearly ended several times by recurring YIPS. For example, at the British Open in 1988, he needed five strokes to hole the ball from a distance of one meter on hole 17!

players affected

Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Jonny Miller, Tom Watson, Mark O`Meara or Ernie Els are other well-known professional golfers who had or have putt problems related to YIPS.

symptomatology

  • The movement disorder manifests in the forearm area of the dominant hand in most affected individuals
  • However, YIPS symptomatology can also manifest in the non-dominant arm side or even appear in both hands.
  • The twitching or trembling in the forearms occurs in many cases during the approach phase of the club to the golf ball
  • Short putts consistently miss the hole by a small margin
  • With longer putts, YIPS-afflicted players lose control of the correct measure. The balls remain clearly too short or overshoot the hole
  • The ball is also increasingly hit on the inside of the club face, so-called sockets / shanks
  • Control over making "clean" contact with the ball has been lost. An impact panic has built up
  • The affected players usually have a good to very good feeling for the ball and practice regularly.

diagnostic

A kinematic measurement with the ultrasound-assisted SAM PuttLab 3-D motion analysis system from the company Science and Motion (http://www.scienceandmotion.com/) is recommended. The device calculates 56 stroke parameters. For the diagnosis of unsteady hands, the measurement of the behavior of the club head rotation in the forward swing is suitable.

SAM PuttLab station

 

 

 

 

Schlägerkopfrotation eines YIPS-freien Putts - ganzheitliche Bewegungsausführung
Club head rotation of a YIPS-free putt - holistic movement execution

 

Club head rotation of a YIPS-affected putt - unsteady forearms and hands, the wholeness of the movement execution is not present.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

erratic rotation of the putter

 

YIPS-test hit performance

As an alternative or in addition to a SAM PuttLab measurement:

a) five putts each one-handed with the left side of the arm as well as

b) putted with the right side of the arm from a distance of one meter to a hole without a break

At least four balls should be holed from a distance of one meter with both the left and right sides of the arm. The one-handed putting test makes the YIPS symptoms more noticeable and visible to the individual.

solutions - fix the YIPS

solution approach1: quiet hands due to a holistic movement structure

The first intervention path has the claim to get fine motor skills under control within a certain period of time through an individual Anti-YIPS training. Daily practice shows that every YIPS-affected person is able to perform an undisturbed putting motion again under certain conditions.

A simple example: during practice putts without the ball, the hands are usually steady.The golfer experiences a freewheeling, holistic movement.

The aim is to create these conditions together with the help of the coach. For this purpose, specific putting exercises are tested and applied.

relearning and beating the YIPS

The regular and systematic execution of the so-called "reference movements" with and without the coach leads to a relearning process.The affected golfer experiences and learns (again) a holistic movement control with a harmonious

The specific putting exercises are checked for success with the highly sensitive SAM PuttLab. Regular checking of the kinematic data documents the success of the treatment.

Best Practice Putt-YIPS: To the solution example

help 2: grip change

A further and complementary possibility to the individual anti-YIPS training is a change of grip. Here, the hand affected by YIPS, i.e. usually the right hand in the case of right-handers, is positioned in an unusual position.

For some professional players (e.g. Sergio Garcia) the claw grip has proven to be successful. Other grip variations for tour players: (hier klicken)

 

Clawgrip
Clawgrip

It is recommended to carry out Anti-YIPS coaching in addition to grip modification. It has been shown in practice that unsteady hands can occur despite grip changes.

help 3: change the direction of movement

Another and more radical possibility is to change the playing technique to the "other side". I.e. here the right-hander retrains to left-handers and vice versa. Here, too, there are many variations in the grip.

In my experience, this change of "movement side" is a chance to set an extreme change impulse and thus to weaken or eliminate YIPS. Disadvantage: relearning to the other side takes a lot of time and the development of a successful feeling for the stroke on the unfamiliar playing side is not guaranteed. This radical change is technically easier to implement in putting than in chipping or pitching.

There is a risk that YIPS will show up on the other side as well.

Anti-YIPS Coaching: report of a golfer

Putting-YIPS from the point of view of an affected player

For me, putt-YIPS was a gradual process that went unnoticed at the beginning. It started with twitching during short putts. It was ignored. Over time, I'm talking about 1-2 years, I sometimes couldn't breathe when I putted and my feet shook as if I were doing a tap dance. My putts were completely numb and uncontrolled. Putts from a distance of 50 cm were sometimes meters behind the hole. On longer putts I could not move my arms and the putt ran 3-4 meters, but the hole was 10 meters away. A phenomenon was, practice swings on the green and putting on the practice green were always fine and loose. Then I got a tip that in Cologne, a trainer has scientifically researched YIPS at the Sports University of Cologne.

I contacted Mr. Gerland by phone and made an appointment. Puh, the first conversation was already very pleasant, finally someone who talked competently with you about YIPS and knew exactly how the other thinks and feels.

My putting motion was then measured with a PC program specially developed for this purpose. The deviations of the measured curves from the upswing to the completion of the putt were very serious.

The analyses showed that the YIPS is present exclusively in the right forearm and is not a psychological problem.

From then on the work began.

Putting exercises, almost always with the right arm, from different distances, against a pendulum, with specific shoulder support, with the tip of the putter, concentration exercises, etc. All specific exercises against YIPS. Success was achieved. During the repeated measurements with SAM Puttlab, the deviations became smaller each time, so my putting became much more consistent and fluid. It is a really sublime feeling when you see in black and white (o.k. the curves are in color) that things are getting better. However, I often practiced the special putting exercises at home (about 10 minutes a day).

My putts on the green have improved enormously again. I feel them and can control them again. Mr. Gerland also says quite openly that YIPS does not go away completely, it comes back out of nowhere. That's right! It is enormously helpful to be prepared for it and to be given the appropriate exercises to perform.

Inquiries gladly by telephone

Hans Ammermann

Tel. 0049 (0) 177/3271442

Driver-YIPS or
Full-Swing-YIPS

The term YIPS is generally understood to refer to shaky hands when putting. However, the phenomenon also occurs with other golf techniques. In my many years of experience as a coach, the YIPS phenomenon is most often seen during the full swing. This includes the tee shot in particular.

It can be assumed that a large number of players are affected without knowing about it. Many described tee-off problems could be related to YIPS. Allegedly the former British Open winner Ian Baker Finch as well as the former No. 1 of the world ranking list David Duval are or were affected by Driver-YIPS.

Henrik Stenson, multiple winner on the PGA Tour and British Open winner in 2015, talks openly about his Driver-YIPS and the problems it causes, up to and including the impending end of his golf career (hier klicken). Hank Haney, Tiger Woods' former coach, faced the problem himself for over ten years. He suspects that Tiger Woods also had to struggle with Driver-YIPS.

symptomatology

The intention to hit straight and far can lead to an unconscious disorder. Similar to the putting situation, the muscles react to the impending ball contact and change tension and composure.

diagnostic

Tee-shot-YIPS, primarily with the driver, is difficult to diagnose. Due to the high clubhead speed, Driver-YIPS is usually not detectable to an outsider. Even the affected player may not feel the Driver-YIPS and misclassify his problems when teeing off.

Hints of tee shot-YIPS:

  • Indications for a tee-off YIPS could be the strikingly different ball flight curves. I.e. the golfer "loses" his balls on the right half of the fairway (slice) as well as on the left half of the fairway (pull). The deviations are drastic (snap hooks/push slices) and cannot be explained by the existing technical skills of the affected player. Even video recordings or TrackMan measurements cannot sufficiently decipher the alternating occurrence of the contrasting stroke patterns.
  • Driver - Statistics of Tiger Woods at the US PGA Tour tournament in Torrey Pines (25.01.-28.01.2018): 30% hit fairways from the tee, 64% of the tee shots missed right and 36% missed left the fairway.
  • Sockets/shanks with the driver and the irons. The ball is sometimes hit only slightly on the heel of the club face/inside of the club face. This could be an indication that the driver head moves "lurching" to the ball, similar to the chaotic putter head rotation during putt-yips. As a result, directional control becomes random.
  • "Fat" or "thin" hit tee shots with the irons are also anomalies that can be signs of unsteady hands if they occur more frequently.
  • On the driving range, the aforementioned glaring misses rarely, if ever, show up. This is an indication that the Driver-YIPS is often linked to the special psychological situation of the tee box. Examples include increased attention from teammates or a compulsion to want to hit particularly far and accurately.

explanation and solution notes: the quest for holistic movement execution

The Driver-YIPS or full-swing-YIPS are characterized by an involuntary change in the clubface just before or during impact. Here, the restlessness in the forearms shortly before the impact point plays an essential role.

The solution approaches follow the examples from my research work on putt-YIPS. The different factors influencing the clubface have to be trained specifically. Conditions should be created under which the stroke runs rhythmically, fluidly, smoothly and consistently again with the goal of having an undisturbed movement in and in front of the impact point.

Chipping-YIPS

The YIPS problem also manifests itself in the short game. Under certain circumstances, the symptoms have shifted from the putting to the short game or both areas of the game are affected at the same time.

Even very successful professional players, including Tiger Woods, are repeatedly associated with Chip-YIPS or a precursor.

symptomatology

  • The golfer regularly has noticeable problems with the short approach shots (chip, pitch, bunker shot).
  • Often "fat" and "thin" strokes alternate with each other.
  • Success depends on ball position ("teed up" vs dry or muddy)
  • Also so-called sockets/shanks, the Hitting the ball at the club heel, can occur more often with Chip-YIPS.
  • Success depends on competition pressure/spectators

In the short game, the error tolerance is very low. The smallest irregularities at the point of impact can already have drastic effects. The results are no longer calculable and do not correspond to the performance level of the affected person. Muscle twitching and failure of motion control is noticeable in some players and leads to failures at the level of beginners.

pressure to play and compete

The special pressure situation in the short game, for example bad lies of the ball, sometimes even leads to movement disorders. The player "freezes" in the movement, the so-called "freezing" or stops during the movement to the golf ball. However, the muscular reaction is not so obvious in all sufferers. In addition, the Chip-YIPS may also only occur in a context-specific manner, for example in a tournament or with a specific lie of the ball. This makes diagnosis difficult, and problems in the short game are not associated with the YIPS-phenomenon.

solutions - fix the YIPS

Certain weaknesses in the playing technique of the short game can be, among other things, the entry into the YIPS problem. For example, an isolated swing from the arms, a flat take away of the club or too little use of the bounce of the club sole at the moment of impact.

If the unsteady hands are always present in the short game, specific Anti-YIPS coaching with the aim of achieving holistic movement control will help.

  • Search for conditions and, above all, ideas under which the approach stroke is holistic and thus trouble-free
  • Use of a variety of special exercises
  • Change of the mental attitude to the chip or pitch
  • Use of analogies to simple and known movements

DR. BERND GERLAND ∙ PGA MASTERPROFESSIONAL ∙ COACHING

TEL: +49 (0) 170 / 47 67 348      bernd.gerland@gmx.net

Golfanlage St. Urbanus ∙ Urbanusstraße ∙ 51147 Köln

„All unser Wissen hat seinen Ursprung in unserer Wahrnehmung.“ (Leonardo da Vinci)

Nach meinen Forschungsergebnissen ist YIPS ein unbewusst erlerntes Bewegungsmuster und sehr häufig an spezifischen Situationen, wie z.B. Wettkämpfe oder Beobachtung gekoppelt.

„Das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile.“ (Aristoteles)

Eine entspannte und harmonische Bewegungsausführung, z.B. mit ruhigen und kontrollierbaren Händen, ist nicht mehr bewusst ansteuerbar. In Folge dessen ist die Ganzheitlichkeit der Bewegungsausführung verloren gegangen.

  • YIPS ist eine natürliche Reaktion des Menschen (des Sportlers) auf Wahrnehmungsprozesse in Verbindung mit Stress während des Bewegungsablaufes
  • YIPS äußert sich in vielen Sportarten in der Regel in unruhigen Händen während der Bewegungsausführung
  • Häufig ist die dominante Hand betroffen
  • Der Sportler erlebt eine „Ohnmacht“ über seine Körperbeherrschung während der Bewegung oder sogar bereits vor dem Beginn der Handlung
  • YIPS ist kontextspezifisch und kann sporadisch oder chronisch auftreten
  • YIPS kann zu erheblichen Leistungseinbußen führen

sporadische und chronische Impact-Panik

Ich verwende für die Problematik beim Zusammenstoß zwischen Schläger und Ball im Tennis und Golf auch den Begriff Impact-Panik.

Nach meiner Erfahrung hat jeder Mensch (Sportler) schon einmal eine sporadische Bewegungsstörung erlebt. In Folge eines chronischen Auftretens werden die unruhigen Händen zu einem ernsthaften Problem für den Menschen (Sportler).

Psyche

Emotionale Prozesse wie beispielsweise Enttäuschung, Ärger, Angst vor Misserfolg oder Blamage verstärken und festigen die YIPS-Symptomatik.

Mangelhafte Bewegungsvorstellungen sind der „Leistungskiller“ im Sport.

Mit professioneller Hilfe ist YIPS ein lösbares Problem. Das Ziel ist, wieder eine ganzheitliche Bewegung anzusteuern und auszuführen.

In einem Interview mit dem Golfjournal (2017) erfahren Sie mehr.

zum Artikel: „Da kommt die pure Verzweiflung raus“

YIPS im Ultraschall – chaotische Ausschläge

unruhige Hände / Unterarme während der Putt-Bewegung (Messung auf Ultraschall-Basis mit SAM Puttlab):

 

 

 

 

In der Grafik ist die Störung der Schlagflächenrotation im Vorwärtsschwung beim Putt-YIPS zu erkennen. Die bunten Linien sind zehn verschiedene Putts, die ein unkontrolliertes Verhalten der Schlagfläche widerspiegeln. Durch dieses „chaotische“ Verhalten des Schlägers wird das Einlochen des Balles zum Zufallsprodukt. Die Ausschläge verdeutlichen den Verlust einer ganzheitlichen Bewegungsstruktur.

Ursachen von Yips

Die Ursachen für das Auftreten von ungünstigen Wahrnehmungsprozessen sind vielfältig. So kann z.B. ein Zergliedern der Bewegung in einzelne Bewegungsbestandteile und ein bewusstes Training von Einzelteilimpulsen eine ganzheitliche Bewegungssteuerung erschweren. Wiederholte Misserfolge können zu einer erheblichen Bewegungsstörung wie dem YIPS-Phänomen führen.

» Schwachstelle im Spiel: Yips zeigt sich häufig in der tatsächlichen oder wahrgenommenen Schwachstelle Ihres Golfspieles. Hierbei kann eine ungünstige oder technisch mangelhafte Spieltechnik eine Rolle spielen und zu unruhigen Händen während der Bewegung führen.

» Erhöhter Stress-Level: Dies kann unbewusster Stress außerhalb und innerhalb des Golfspieles sein. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise Verletzungsprobleme oder auch die Umstellung der Technik.

» Blamabler Fehlschlag: Sie erleben während Ihrer Golfrunde einen oder mehrere peinliche Fehlschläge in einem bestimmten Bereich Ihres Golfspieles, z.B. kurze Putts oder Chips. Die Wahrnehmung der Fehlschläge kann durch die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit der Mitspieler oder Zuschauer während eines Turniers verstärkt werden.

» Stereotypes Training: Durch ein hohes und einseitiges Trainingspensum können sich Überlastungen und ungünstige Wahrnehmungsprozesse in der Spieltechnik ergeben. Auch die motorischen Erfahrungen aus anderen Schlagsportarten wie z.B. Tennis oder Squash führen unter Umständen zu negativen Transfereffekten wie z.B. überaktive Hände / Unterarme und zum Verlust einer ganzheitlichen Bewegungssteuerung. Ein Streben nach Perfektion verstärkt den Einstieg in die YIPS-Symptomatik.

» analytisch-synthetisches Training: Das (exzessive) Einüben von Teilimpulsen, das (bewusste) Zergliedern einer ganzheitlichen Bewegungsstruktur in einzelne Bestandteile sowie das bewusste Ansteuern und Eingreifen in einen fließenden Bewegungsablauf kann den Einstieg in die YIPS-Symptomatik stimulieren.

Die genannten Aspekte sind die idealen Zutaten für den perfekten „YIPS-Cocktail“…und für die Entwicklung einer Impact Panik.

Putt-YIPS &
Putt-Probleme & unruhige Hände beim Putten

Putt-Yips

Der dreifache Major–Sieger, Tommy Armour formulierte den Begriff YIPS in Bezug auf seine Putt-Probleme und beendete mit 41 Jahren aufgrund von chronischen Putt-YIPS seine Profikarriere.

Auch die Karriere von Deutschlands prominentestem Golfspieler – Bernhard Langer – wurde schon mehrfach durch immer wieder auftretende YIPS beinahe beendet. So benötigte er beispielsweise 1988 bei den British Open an Loch 17, aus einer Entfernung von einem Meter, fünf Schläge um den Ball einzulochen!

Betroffene Spieler

Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Jonny Miller, Tom Watson, Mark O`Meara, Sergio Garcia oder Ernie Els sind weitere bekannte Profigolfer, die Putt-Probleme in Verbindung mit YIPS hatten oder haben.

Symptomatik

  • Die Bewegungsstörung äußert sich bei den meisten Betroffenen im Unterarmbereich der dominanten Hand
  • Die YIPS-Symptomatik kann sich aber auch in der nicht-dominanten Armseite zeigen oder sogar in beiden Händen auftauchen
  • Das Zucken oder Zittern in den Unterarmen tritt in vielen Fällen in der Annäherungsphase des Schlägers zum Golfball auf
  • Kurze Putts gehen immer wieder knapp am Loch vorbei
  • Bei längeren Putts verlieren die YIPS-geplagten Spieler die Kontrolle über die richtige Dosierung. Die Bälle bleiben deutlich zu kurz oder schießen über das Loch hinaus
  • Der Ball wird auch vermehrt an der Innenseite des Schlägerblattes getroffen, sogenannte Sockets / Shanks
  • Die Kontrolle über einen „sauberen“ Ballkontakt ist verloren gegangen. Es hat sich eine Impact Panik aufgebaut
  • Die betroffenen Spieler haben in der Regel ein gutes bis sehr gutes Ball- und Bewegungsgefühl und trainieren regelmäßig

Diagnostik

Kinematische Messung mit dem ultraschallunterstützten SAM PuttLab 3-D Bewegungsanalyse System der Firma Science and Motion (http://www.scienceandmotion.com/). Das Gerät berechnet 56 Schlagparameter. Zur Diagnose der unruhigen Hände eignet sich die Messung des Verhaltens der Schlägerkopfrotation im Vorwärtsschwung.

SAM PuttLab Station

 

 

 

 

Schlägerkopfrotation eines YIPS-freien Putts - ganzheitliche Bewegungsausführung
Schlägerkopfrotation eines YIPS-freien Putts – ganzheitliche Bewegungsausführung

 

Schlägerkopfrotation eines YIPS-Putts – unruhige Unterarme und Hände, die Ganzheitlichkeit der Bewegungsausführung ist nicht vorhanden

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ungleichmäßige Rotation des Putters

 

YIPS-Test Trefferleistung

Alternativ oder zusätzlich zu einer SAM PuttLab Messung werden:

a) je fünf Putts einhändig mit der linken Armseite sowie

b) mit der rechten Armseite aus einem Meter Entfernung auf ein Loch ohne Break geputtet.

Aus einem Meter Entfernung sollen sowohl mit der linken als auch mit der rechten Armseite mindestens vier Bälle eingelocht werden. Der einhändige Putt-Test macht die YIPS-Symptome für den Betroffenen wahrnehmbarer und sichtbarer.

Lösungsansätze

Hilfestellung 1: Wiederherstellung einer ganzheitlichen Bewegungsstruktur

Der erste Interventionsweg hat den Anspruch, die unruhigen Hände durch ein individuelles Anti-Yips Training innerhalb einer gewissen Zeitspanne unter Kontrolle zu bekommen. Die tägliche Praxis zeigt, dass jeder YIPS-Betroffene unter bestimmten Bedingungen wieder eine ungestörte Puttbewegung durchführen kann.

Ein einfaches Beispiel: Bei Probeputts ohne Ball sind die Hände in der Regel ruhig. Der Golfspieler erlebt eine freie, ganzheitliche Bewegung.

Es gilt, diese Bedingungen gemeinsam mit Hilfe des Coaches zu herzustellen. Hierzu werden spezifische Puttübungen getestet und angewendet.

Umlernen

Das regelmäßige und systematische Durchführen der sogenannten „Referenzbewegungen“ mit und ohne Trainer führt zu einem Umlernvorgang. Der betroffene Golfspieler erlebt und erlernt (wieder) eine ganzheitliche Bewegungssteuerung mit einem harmonischen Einsatz aller wichtigen Muskelgruppen. Er kann sein wahres Leistungspotenzial abrufen.

Die spezifischen Puttübungen werden mit dem hochsensiblen SAM PuttLab auf Ihren Erfolg überprüft. Die regelmäßige Überprüfung der kinematischen Daten dokumentiert den Behandlungserfolg.

Best Practice Putt-YIPS: Zum Lösungsbeispiel

Hilfestellung 2: Griffumstellung

Eine weitere und ergänzende Möglichkeit zum individuellen Anti-YIPS Training ist eine Griffänderung. Hierbei wird die von YIPS-betroffene Hand, d.h. bei Rechtshänder in der Regel die rechte Hand, in eine ungewohnte Stellung positioniert.

Bei einigen Profi-Spielern (u.a. Sergio Garcia) hat sich der Klauen-Griff (Claw-Griff) bewährt. Weitere Griff-Varianten bei Tour-Spielern: (hier klicken)

 

Clawgrip
Clawgrip

Empfehlung: Zusätzlich zur Griffänderung ein Anti-YIPS Coaching durchzuführen, da es sich in der Praxis gezeigt hat, dass die unruhigen Hände trotz Griffänderung auftauchen können.

Hilfestellung 3: Spielseite wechseln

Eine weitere und radikalere Möglichkeit ist das Umstellen der Spieltechnik auf die „andere Seite“. D.h. hierbei schult der Rechtshänder auf Linkshänder um und vice versa. Auch hier gibt es dann noch viele Variationen im Griff.

Nach meiner Erfahrung ist dieser „Seitenwechsel“ eine Chance, einen extremen Veränderungsimpuls zu setzen und damit YIPS abzuschwächen oder zu eliminieren. Nachteil: Das Umlernen auf die andere Seite kostet viel Zeit und die Entwicklung eines erfolgreichen Gefühls für den Schlag auf der ungewohnten Spielseite ist nicht gewährleistet. Beim Putten ist diese radikale Umstellung technisch leichter umzusetzen als beim Chip oder Pitch.

Es besteht die Gefahr, dass YIPS sich auch auf der anderen Spielseite zeigt.

Anti-YIPS Coaching: Bericht eines Golfers

YIPS und Anti-YIPS Coaching beim Putten aus Sicht eines Betroffenen:

Putt-YIPS war bei mir ein schleichender am Anfang nicht wahrgenommener Prozess. Es fing mit Zuckungen bei kurzen Putts an. Wurde ignoriert. Im Laufe der Zeit, ich spreche über 1-2 Jahre, bekam ich beim Putt teilweise keine Luft mehr und die Füße zitterten als würde ich einen Stepptanz vorführen. Meine Putts waren völlig gefühllos und unkontrolliert. Putts aus 50 cm Entfernung waren teilweise meterweit hinter dem Loch. Bei längeren Putts bekam ich die Arme nicht bewegt und der Putt lief 3-4 Meter, dass Loch war aber 10 Meter weit entfernt. Ein Phänomen war, Probeschwünge auf dem Grün und Putten auf dem Übungsgrün waren immer in Ordnung und locker. Dann bekam ich den Tipp, dass in Köln ein Trainer YIPS wissenschaftlich an der Sporthochschule Köln erforscht hat.

Telefonisch Kontakt mit Herrn Gerland aufgenommen und Termin vereinbart. Puh, dass erste Gespräch war schon sehr angenehm, endlich mal jemand der kompetent mit einem über YIPS redete und genau wusste wie der Andere denkt und fühlt.

Mit einem auf eigens dafür entwickelten PC Programm wurde dann meine Puttbewegung gemessen. Die Abweichungen der gemessenen Kurven vom Aufschwung bis zur Beendigung des Putts waren sehr gravierend.

Die Analysen ergaben, dass der YIPS ausschließlich im rechten Unterarm vorhanden ist und kein psychisches Problem.

Ab dann begann die Arbeit.

Puttübungen, fast immer mit dem rechten Arm, aus verschiedenen Entfernungen, gegen einen Pendel, mit spezifischer Schulterunterstützung, mit der Spitze des Putters, Konzentrationsübungen usw. Alles spezielle Übungen gegen YIPS. Der Erfolg stellte sich ein. Bei den immer wieder durchgeführten Messungen mit SAM Puttlab wurden die Abweichungen von Mal zu Mal geringer, also mein Putt erheblich konstanter und flüssiger. Es ist ein richtig erhabenes Gefühl, wenn man schwarz auf weiß sieht (o.k. die Kurven sind in Farbe), dass es besser wird. Habe allerdings auch oft zu Hause die spezielle Puttübungen trainiert (ca. 10 Minuten am Tag).

Meine Putts auf dem Green haben sich wieder enorm verbessert. Ich fühle sie und kann sie weider kontrollieren. Herr Gerland sagt aber auch ganz offen, YIPS geht nicht ganz weg, aus dem Nichts kommt er auf einmal wieder. Stimmt! Es ist enorm hilfreich, dass man darauf vorbereitet ist und entsprechende Übungen, die man dann durchführen sollte, an die Hand bekommt.

Ich stehe für Rückfragen gerne telefonisch zur Verfügung.

Hans Ammermann

Tel. 0177/3271442

Driver-YIPS oder
YIPS beim vollen Schwung

Der Begriff YIPS bezieht sich im allgemeinen Verständnis auf die unruhigen Hände beim Putten. Das Phänomen tritt aber auch bei anderen Golftechniken auf. Nach meiner langjährigen Erfahrung als Trainer zeigt sich das YIPS-Phänomen am häufigsten während des vollen Schwunges. Hierzu zählt insbesondere der Abschlag.

Es ist anzunehmen, dass eine Vielzahl von Spielern betroffen ist, ohne davon zu wissen. Viele beschriebene Abschlag-Probleme könnten einen Bezug zum YIPS haben. Angeblich sind oder waren der ehemalige Britisch Open Sieger Ian Baker Finch sowie die ehemalige Nr. 1 der Weltrangliste David Duval von Driver-YIPS betroffen.

Henrik Stenson, mehrmaliger Sieger auf der PGA Tour und Britisch Open Sieger 2015, spricht offen über seinen Driver-YIPS und den damit verbundenen Problemen bis hin zum drohenden Ende der Golfkarriere (hier klicken). Hank Haney, der frühere Coach von Tiger Woods, war selbst über zehn Jahre mit dem Problem konfrontiert. Er vermutet, dass auch Tiger Woods mit Driver-YIPS zu kämpfen hat.

Symptomatik

Die Absicht gerade und weit schlagen zu wollen, kann zu einer unbewussten „Fehlsteuerung“ und damit zu unruhigen Händen führen. Ähnlich wie in der Putt-Situation reagiert die Muskulatur auf den bevorstehenden Ball-Kontakt und verändert die Spannung und die Gelassenheit.

Diagnose

Der Abschlag-YIPS, vornehmlich mit dem Driver, ist schwer zu diagnostizieren. Durch die hohe Schlägerkopfgeschwindigkeit ist Driver-YIPS für einen Außenstehenden in der Regel nicht zu erkennen. Selbst der betroffene Spieler spürt möglicherweise den Driver-YIPS nicht und stuft seine Probleme beim Abschlag falsch ein.

Hinweise für einen Abschlag-YIPS:

  • Auffällig verschiedene Ballflugkurven. D.h. der Golfspieler „verliert“ seine Bälle sowohl auf der rechten Fairwayhälfte (Slice) als auch auf der linken Fairwayhälfte (Pull). Die Abweichungen sind dabei drastisch (Snap-Hooks/Push-Slices) und lassen sich aus dem vorhandenen technischen Können des betroffenen Spielers nicht erklären. Auch Videoaufnahmen oder TrackMan-Messungen können das alternierende Auftreten der konträren Schlagmuster nicht ausreichend entschlüsseln.
  • Beispiel für Streuung beim Driver: Driver – Statistik von Tiger Woods beim US-PGA-Tour Turnier in Torrey Pines (25.01.-28.01.2018): 30 % getroffene Fairways vom Abschlag, 64 % der Abschläge verfehlten rechts und 36 % verfehlten links das Fairway.
  • Sockets/Shanks mit dem Driver und den Eisen. Der Ball wird teilweise nur leicht an der Hacke des Schlägerblatts/Innenseite der Schlagfläche getroffen. Dies könnte ein Hinweis darauf sein, dass der Driverkopf sich „schlingernd“ zum Ball bewegt, ähnlich der chaotischen Putterkopfrotation beim Putt-YIPS. Dadurch wird eine Richtungskontrolle zum Zufallsprodukt.
  • Auch „fett“ oder „dünn“ getroffene Abschläge mit den Eisen sind Auffälligkeiten, die bei häufigerem Auftauchen Anzeichen für unruhige Hände sein können.
  • Auf der Driving-Range zeigen sich die genannten eklatanten Fehlschläge selten oder gar nicht. Dies ist ein Hinweis, dass der Driver-YIPS häufig an der besonderen psychologischen Situation des Abschlages in der Tee-Box gekoppelt ist. Beispiele hierfür sind eine erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit der Mitspieler oder ein Zwang, besonders weit und präzise schlagen zu wollen.

Erklärung und Lösungshinweise: Die Suche nach einer ganzheitlichen Bewegungsausführung

Der Driver-YIPS ist gekennzeichnet durch eine unwillkürliche Veränderung der Schlagfläche kurz vor oder während des Impacts. Hierbei spielt die Unruhe in den Unterarmen kurz vor dem Treffpunkt des Balles eine wesentliche Rolle.

Die Lösungsansätze folgen den Beispielen aus meiner Forschungsarbeit zum Putt-YIPS. Die unterschiedlichen Einflussfaktoren auf die Schlagfläche müssen spezifisch trainiert werden. Es sollen Bedingungen geschaffen werden, unter denen der Schlag wieder „ruhig“ und „rund“ abläuft mit dem Ziel, im und vor dem Treffpunkt eine ungestörte Bewegungsausführung zu haben.

Chip-YIPS

Die YIPS-Problematik äußert sich auch im kurzen Spiel. Unter Umständen hat sich die Symptomatik aus dem Putten in das kurze Spiel verschoben oder beide Spielbereiche sind gleichzeitig betroffen.

Auch sehr erfolgreiche Profi-Spieler, u.a. Tiger Woods, werden immer wieder mit Chip-YIPS in Verbindung gebracht.

Symptomatik

  • Der Golfspieler hat regelmäßig erkennbare Probleme mit den kurzen Annäherungsschlägen (Chip, Pitch, Bunkerschlag).
  • Häufig wechseln sich „fette“ und „dünne“ Schläge miteinander ab.
  • Erfolg ist abhängig von der Balllage („aufgeteet“ vs blank/matschig)
  • Auch sogenannte Sockets/Shanks, das Treffen des Balles an der Schlägerhacke, können beim Chip-YIPS vermehrt auftreten.
  • Erfolg ist abhängig von Wettkampfdruck/Zuschauer

Im kurzen Spiel ist die Fehlertoleranz sehr gering. Kleinste Unregelmäßigkeiten im Treffpunkt des Balles können schon drastische Auswirkungen haben. Die Ergebnisse sind nicht mehr kalkulierbar und entsprechen nicht dem Leistungsniveau der Betroffenen. Das Muskelzucken und das Versagen der Bewegungssteuerung ist bei einigen Spielern auffallend zu erkennen und führen zu Fehlschlägen auf dem Niveau von Anfängern.

Spiel- und Wettkampfdruck

Durch die besondere Drucksituation im kurzen Spiel, zum Beispiel ungünstige Lagen des Balles, kommt es zum Teil sogar zu Bewegungsblockaden. Der Spieler „friert“ in der Bewegung ein, das sogenannte „freezing“ oder stoppt während der Bewegung zum Golfball ab. Allerdings ist die muskuläre Reaktion nicht bei allen Betroffenen so augenscheinlich. Zudem kann der Chip-YIPS auch nur kontextspezifisch auftauchen, zum Beispiel im Turnier oder bei einer spezifischen Lage des Balles. Eine Diagnose wird dadurch erschwert, und die Probleme im kurzen Spiel werden nicht mit dem YIPS-Phänomen in Verbindung gebracht.

Lösungsansätze

Bestimmte Schwächen in der Spieltechnik des kurzen Spiels können u.a. der Einstieg in die YIPS-Problematik sein. Hier sind beispielsweise ein isoliertes Schwingen aus den Armen, ein flaches Wegnehmen des Schlägers oder der zu geringe Einsatz des Bounces der Schlägersohle im Treffmoment zu nennen.

Sind die unruhigen Hände im kurzen Spiel immer wieder präsent, hilft ein spezifisches Anti-YIPS Coaching mit dem Ziel, eine ganzheitliche Bewegungssteuerung zu erreichen.

  • Suche nach Bedingungen und vor allem Vorstellungen, unter denen der Annäherungsschlag ganzheitlich und damit störungsfrei abläuft
  • Einsatz von vielfältigen Spezialübungen
  • Veränderung der mentalen Einstellung zum Chip bzw. Pitch
  • Verwendung von Analogien zu einfachen und bekannten Bewegungen

DR. BERND GERLAND ∙ PGA MASTERPROFESSIONAL ∙ COACHING

TEL: +49 (0) 170 / 47 67 348      bernd.gerland@gmx.net

Golfanlage St. Urbanus ∙ Urbanusstraße ∙ 51147 Köln